Posted in The Live Now List

Live Now List #2: Learn a New Language

Bonjour! Salut!

Welcome everyone to my blog! Language is a central part of my life. Being in an interracial, and intercultural marriage we often speak in two languages. I am used to hearing Tagalog/Filipino spoken around my ears. But for a while now my secret desire has been to learn French. Where do I begin? I could tell you about the time that I wanted to study French in school, but my parents pushed me into Spanish classes instead. (They thought it would be more important in the real world), or I could tell you about the time that I went to Europe for the summer and traveled between Spain and France. For the several weeks that I was there I was immersed in an entirely different world.

French was flowing all around me and beyond the glittering, busy lights of Paris I saw an ancient, dazzling culture just waiting for me to explore. But I didn’t. Life moved on, and so did I. Now here I am finally able to pursue this passion! Anyone who knows me knows that I love to save a dollar where I can. So I am very excited to share with you a video I found on Netflix Instant Watch: “Bonjour Les Amis!”. While it is available for purchase on Amazon if you do not have Netflix, I would encourage those who do have it to watch it.

51RZZA4PKTL._SY300_

Do not be discouraged by the 1 star review of this children’s educational video on Netflix. This video has been around for quite sometime, so perhaps other viewers were expecting the cinematics to be better. But let’s be frank: while the DVD was released in 2004, the friendly cat, Moustache, carefully shows children how to press the pause button on your VCR as you slowly learn the French language. That shows you how old this tape is! But like I said, don’t be fooled into thinking that outdated= unusable because that couldn’t be farther from the truth! What I love about this video is that with each phrase there is a slow voice that speaks to you gently, then a prompt that is color coded so you know when to speak, and then the voice repeats the phrase again. Moustache the cat playfully guides viewers through his life, where he lives, who his friends are, etc. I felt myself slowly feeling more confident in the few phrases I was learning, and I bet you would too if you gave it a try! 😉

As I move forward and continue to study and practice French I hope that I am better able to understand French culture as a whole. I want to learn about the various regions of France and the cuisine they typically serve. (I know… I’m a total foodie– I can’t help it!). I want to read about the history in France and dispel the myth of French arrogance towards other people. I want to let the language flow all around me and embrace it completely. Only when let ourselves feel, breathe, live, and experience other cultures do we truly begin to understand each other. Au revoir les Amis!  Have a wonderful night everyone! ❤

 

Leave a Reply

