Posted in Frugal Recipes

Farfalle with Salmon and Leeks

On weeknights I like to keep things simple. Come 5 PM my family is romping through the door hungry, tired, and in need of a nourishing meal. This pasta dish is so simple that even the cook who hates cooking can make it! I have to share with you a comical moment that happened this evening. Now I have made this dish countless times. I found it in the America’s Test Kitchen “7 Ingredients or Less” Magazine, and by now the pages have been dog-eared many, many times.

Anyway, there is a part in the recipe (which you can read below) where you pour in a cup of white wine and let it cook, covered, while the 2 salmon fillets cook in the pan with it. As I placed my salmon in the pan with my sauteed leeks and poured in my white wine I covered the pan. The aroma began to circulate through my kitchen and steamed up through the cervices in the lid. I peered over the pan and inhaled. Mmmmmm! My eye has a natural attention to detail when I’m cooking and I thought, perhaps, I should give the leeks a quick stir as it was cooking. Now mind you my gas flame was on high and I’m cooking white wine. All of a sudden I lifted the lid and my pan turned into a flambe! Now this is the part where I should have gone, “Oh gosh!” and freaked, right? But I didn’t. Instead I just blinked in surprise, and turned down the flame which extinguished the pan and the food was completely fine. Perhaps I was channeling my inner Chef Gordon Ramsey? (lol).

Farfalle with Salmon and Leeks
Farfalle with Salmon and Leeks

I hope you all love this simple, low-ingredient recipe as much as I do. Have a wonderful night everyone! ❤

Farfalle with Salmon and Leeks

Recipe by: America’s Test Kitchen

(Serves 4 to 6 people)

Ingredients:

2 pounds leeks

2 tablespoons of unsalted butter

2 (6-ounce) skinless salmon fillets, 1 1/4 inches thick

1 cup dry white wine (I used a simple, Sauvignon Blanc)

3/4 cup of heavy cream

1 pound Farfalle (i.e. one box)

Directions: 

1. Trim and discard root and dark green leaves from leeks. Cut leeks lengthwise and chop into 1/2 inch pieces. Sautee leeks in a pan with the 2 tbsp. of butter until tender, about 7 minutes.

2. Season the salmon with salt and pepper and place into the skillet with the leeks. Add the white wine and cook covered until the salmon is just cooked through, about 6 minutes. Remove salmon and move to a plate to keep warm. Stir cream into skillet and simmer until thickened, about 2 minutes, then remove from heat, cover, and let rest for 2 minutes.

3. Meanwhile cook the Farfalle according to direction, or until Al dente. Drain the pasta and return to the pot. Add the sauce and salmon and toss gently to combine. As the juices coat the noodles gently break apart the salmon into bite-sized pieces. season with salt and pepper as needed. Serve hot.

** I garnished with a bit of grated fresh, Parmesan Cheese to give extra flavor. ** 

 

Leave a Reply

