Posted in Frugal Recipes

Beer, Brats, and Barley Soup

Do you remember the shrimp and sausage recipe from last night? I am the type of girl where I hate to let anything go to waste. Like many of you out there so often I use part of an ingredient and then as I continue cooking other dishes those half-ingredients get pushed further and further back into my refrigerator. Well not today, folks!

I was on a mission to use up the leftover sausage. I also had leftover barley from St. Patrick’s Day in the pantry. This recipe comes to you courtesy of the Better Homes and Gardens Magazine, though I added barley to my soup. I also did not have fennel seeds or sage, so I substituted those spices for thyme, and rosemary. It worked out just fine. This simple, hearty soup consists of a beef and beer broth with salt, pepper, rosemary, and thyme. Sausage is browned and combined with onions, carrots, and cabbage. As the soup boils the bitter beer taste lessens and what is left is a smooth, savory soup. I love it! while admittedly I had to pick out my sausage (because for health reasons I am unable to eat meat) I enjoyed the flavors and taste of everything else. The best part? This soup is cheap and goes a long way! We will definitely have leftovers for lunch. I hope you all enjoy this recipe and have a wonderful day! ❤

Beer, Brats, and Barley Soup!
Beer, Brats, and Barley Soup!

 

Ingredients:

12 ounces of ground pork (or leftover Italian sausage removed from its casing)

1 medium onion, chopped

 

1 teaspoon fennel seeds, crushed

1/2 teaspoon dried sage, crushed

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

2 14-ounce cans lower sodium beef broth

1 12-ounce can of light beer (I used Bud Light)

2 medium carrots, thickly sliced

2 cups shredded green cabbage

4 1/2-inch-thick slices of whole grain bread (I used a store-bought Baguette)

 

Instructions:

1. In a large saucepan cook pork, onion, fennel seeds, sage, and pepper about 10 minutes or until pork is browned and onion is tender, stirring to break up pork as it cooks. Drain off fat if necessary.

 

2. Add broth, beer, and carrots. Bring to boiling; reduce heat. Simmer, covered, for 5 minutes. Add cabbage. Cook covered for about 5 more minutes or until carrots and cabbage are tender.

3. Ladle soup into bowls. Serve with a piece of warm bread. Enjoy!

Nutrition Info:

PER SERVING: 215 Cal., 4 g total fat (1 g sat. fat), 59 mg chol., 579 mg sodium, 15 g carb., 4 g fiber, 24 g pro.,

Leave a Reply

