Posted in Frugal Recipes

Cooking On $50 a Week!

I love budget cooking. Sure, I drool just as much as the next person at lobster rolls on “Kimchi Chronicles”, or salivate at a full sushi boat, but practically… seafood can get expensive– fast. That’s why I have dedicated time and effort into scouring the internet for recipes that are cheap AND healthy. My family and I lean towards a vegetarian diet and stick with primarily plant-based meals. Even still, there were times where produce prices would skyrocket and I sat there wondering, “How can I make my cooking more budget-friendly?”.

So I challenged myself to find recipes to cook throughout the week on $50.00. Passover starts on Friday so you will notice that I didn’t put down my Friday budget recipe. I will be posting all of my Passover recipes and activities beginning on Friday. However, I did manage to get all the ingredients I need for Monday through Thursday on exactly $50! I’m so proud. I cannot wait to cook, taste, and review these recipes on here for you to see. Healthy cooking can be affordable no matter what your budget is.

I did it! Everything for $50.00.
I did it! Everything for $50.00.

This week’s menu is as follows:

1. Mujaddara

Mujaddara is a Lebanese rice dish consisting of rice, lentils, and caramelized onions. Cooked in vegetable broth I know this will be a tasty, filling dinner for the family.

2. Spinach and Artichoke Wonderpot

I love Spinach. And I love artichokes. So what’s not to love in this simple, yet delicious Italian dish that mixes a few basic ingredients and spices into a one-pot dish and tosses it over Fettuccine!

3. Quinoa and Black Bean Tacos

I haven’t had much luck in finding tasty Quinoa dishes. But I have read enough articles to see the nutritional merit in eating this ancient seed. So I am testing my hand again with this simple taco dish. I absolutely love tacos, so I am hoping this one turns out well! Wish me luck!

4. Chunky Lentil and Vegetable Soup

Once a week I try and cook a hearty vegetable soup. Whether it is split pea soup, or potato soup, or Matzo Ball soup… we love soup! It’s the perfect, cheap, easy meal that is guaranteed to have leftovers the next day.

I hope you all enjoy these recipes and if you have a healthy, budget recipe please feel free to leave a comment with the link! Happy cooking everyone! 😀

 

Leave a Reply

