Posted in Jewish Music

You Are What You Listen To!

Do you know that saying, “you are what you eat”? I didn’t believe it for the longest time but then I gained a bunch of weight over many years until I hit a point where I had to do something about it. What I was putting into my body was having an impact on how my body functioned. So too does what we ingest with our eyes and ears impact our mood and feelings.

A long time ago I watched a funny stand up by Ellen DeGeneres. She was joking about how news saturated we are. People will be scrolling their Facebook news feed, while watching the news on TV, and checking their Twitter on their phone! I mean, really people? Doesn’t that feel a little bit excessive? But I digress. My point is that we need to take care of our mind, body, and soul and limit ourselves to how much negative media we watch.

Anyone who knows me knows that I am a music junkie. I love rocking out to music. But over the years I’ve come to realize that just because I’m having a bad day, or a rough moment, doesn’t mean I need to go blast Linkin Park on the headset. There are more positive ways to channel my frustrations. Over time I began only allowing myself to listen to music with positive messages. I filled my ears with upbeat, energetic, clean music. And you know what? It really does boost my mood. And I bet it would boost yours too! So hop onto Youtube and create your own playlist. Here are some videos from my Jewish Music playlist to help get you started. Happy Chair Dancing everyone! 😀

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

